CSE fellowship media briefing on Water Bodies in India - Public Spaces, Private Designs | Centre for Science and Environment


CSE fellowship media briefing on Water Bodies in India - Public Spaces, Private Designs

main.jpg

July 26-27, 2011

Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

This workshop was supported by Jamsetji Tata Trust
 
Water is keenly contested today. Reports are emerging from across India about water bodies being encroached upon, gobbled up and sucked dry by a combination of forces ranging from industrialisation and urban growth to population pressures and severe pollution.

As a result, the other users of these water bodies – farmers, villagers and local communities – are up in arms. A state of continuous conflict exists over these water bodies, these lakes, rivers, reservoirs, streams and wetlands.

Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) has recently launched a media fellowship on this contentious subject. To further investigate, analyse and initiate discussions on it, CSE conducted a Fellowship Media Briefing Workshop on water bodies in India.

The two day briefing was organised in association with Samata and Vizag Journalists Forum(VJF) in Visakhapatnam. It was attended by about 80 regional and national journalists writing in English, Hindi and Vernacular languages. The briefing was especially aimed in providing support to the  selected fellows and other journalists who have been writing on water issues. The agenda was divided in class room sessions as well as a field trip to the controvercial East Coast Power Project site in Kakarapalli, Srikakulam district.

The journalist group was led by local activists in Kakarapalli which helped them understand the conflict surrounding the wetland. A panel discussion was also organised with local activists from Sompeta, Kakarapalli, local journalists and it was cheered by Sunita Narain. This session was extremely well received by the journalists as they could raise questions and understand the ground realities.

A small press the meet was organised by VJF with Ms Narain and local journalists from both English and Telugu medium which rounded off our briefing.

For further details, you can contact Papia Samajdar at papia@cseindia.org 
 

 
List of Participant
 

Ms Shalini Singh, senior reporter,
Hindustan Times Delhi
shalininess@gmail.com

Bijay Mishra, correspondent,
DD News & Air Angul
bijaymishrabijaymishra@gmail.com

Mahesh Langa, special correspondent,
Hindustan Times Ahmedabad
mahesh.langa@gmail.com

Haroon Mirani, senior correspondent,
Kashmir Newz Srinagar
haroonmirani@gmail.com

K Rajendran, deputy news editor,
Kairali TV Trivandrum
krajendran6@gmail.com

Biswajeet Banerjee, bureau chief,
The Pioneer, Lucknow
biswajeetbanerjee@gmail.com

Sunil Kumar,senior reporter,
The New Indian Express Kochi
mkskumar1@gmail.com

Pankaj Singh, senior staff reporter,
Hindustan
ps2198@gmail.com

Shib Shankar Nanda,
principal correspondent,
Dharitri Sambalpur
sibanandasbp@gmail.com

Priya Ranjan Sahu: principal correspondent,
Hindustan Times Bhubaneshwar
sahupriyaranjan@gmail.com

Nikhil Agarwal, journalist,
PTI Kolkata
journalist.nikhil@gmail.com

Pulin Kalita, senior sub-editor,
Dainik Asam Guwahati
pulalkal@yahoo.com,pulinkalitaghy@gmail.com

S Jayakrishnan, news editor,
Deepika daily Kozhikode
jaykesaijasi@gmail.com

V.Raja gopal, senior reporter,
Prajasakti Hyderabad
praja.sarma@gmail.com

Aditi Prasad, input editor,
CVB News Service NOIDA
Aditi.prasad@cvbnews.in

Abantika Ghosh, assistant editor,
The Times of India Delhi
abantikag@gmail.com

Ganadhalu Shrikanta, sub editor/reporter,
Prajavani Bangalore
ganadhal@gmail.com


Pushyamitra, provincial desk incharge,
Prabhat Khabar Bhagalpur
pushyamitra@prabhatkhabar.in

Sandeep Pradhan, reporter,
Central Chronicle Raipur
sandeep.pradhan290@gmail.com

Manas Pratim Das, transmission executive,
AIR Kolkata,
i2manas@gmail.com

G T Sathish: senior reporter,
The Hindu Bangalore
satisha.gt@gmail.com

Varghese C Thomas, chief sub-editor,
Malayala Manorama Kottayam
varghesecthomas@mm.co.in

Tarun Sharma, chief sub-editor,
Dainik Bhaskar Sriganganagar
tarun@raj.bhaskarnet.com, tarun.sharma33@hotmail.com

Ritu Mishra, deputy news editor,
Dainik Bhaskar Bhopal
ritu.mishrra@gmail.com


Raju Nayak, editor, Lokmat
Goa
nayakraju@gmail.com

Sukhada Khandge,
correspondent/copy editor,
DNA Mumbai
Sukhada.khandge@gmail.com

Stella Sumita Paul, freelance correspondent,
Planet Earth Hyderabad
stellasglobe@gmail.com

C V L N Prasad, chief reporter,
Andhra Jyoti Hyderabad,
prasadcvln@gmail.com, prasadcvln@andhrajyothy.com

Mohammed Shafeeq,
special correspondent,
IANS Hyderabad
m.shafeeq@ians.in

KV Ramanamurthy, editor in charge,
Municipulse Monthly
Magazine Hyderabad
ramanamurthy.kv@rediffmail.com

Vaishalli Chandra, special correspondent,
DNA Bangalore,
vaishallichandra@gmail.com

Vijayalakshmi, Suvarna news
Bangalore,
vijayamoily@gmail.com

N Sanajaoba Meetei, staff reporter,
Hueiyen Lanpao daily news (morning)
sanajaobaningthoukhongjam@gmail.com

Geetartha Pathak, assistant editor,
Asam Bani,
geetarthapathak@hotmail.com,
journalistunionassam@gmail.com,

P.Rekha, sub editor, Mathrubhumi Daily
Thrisur
rekhachandra@gmail.com

Juhi Chaudhary, senior correspondent,
CNN-IBN NOIDA,
juhi.chaudhary@network18online.com

Ajoy Ashirwad, senior correspondent,
Frontline Delhi,
ashirwad.ajoy@gmail.com

Chandra Shekhar, producer,
Lok Sabha TV Delhi,
chandra_shekher9@rediffmail.com

Malaramuthan R., senior sub editor,
Dinamalar Daily Chennai
malaramuthan@gmail.com

Sathish Kumar V, chief sub-editor/Coordinator,
Dinamalar Kalvimalar
Chennai
sathish.journalist@gmail.com

Snehal Rebello, special correspondent,
Hindustan Times Mumbai
snehal.rebello@hindustantimes.com/ snehal.rebello@gmail.com

Kumar Sanjay, freelancer,
Ranchi,
sanjaynidan@gmail.com

Kunal Purohit, senior reporter,
Hindustan Times Mumbai
kunal.purohit @hindustantimes.com/ kunal.purohit06@gmail

Bhoomika Kalam, special correspondent,
People's Samachar Bhopal
bhoomikakalam@gmail.com , bhoomika_kalam@yahoo.com


Rashmi Prajapati, journalist,
Dainik Jagran
Bhopal,
rashmi.journalism@gmail.com

Ruby Sarkar, special correspondent,
Deshbandhu News Paper Bhopal,
sarkar.ruby@yahoo.com, ruby.journalist@gmail.com

Rajanish Joshi, sub-editor,
Daily Sakaal Solapur,
joshirajanish@gmail.com

 

Announcements

  • May 1-2, 2014

    Casuarina Hall, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi 

    Electricity accounted for 57 per cent of total energy consumption during 2011-12 in India -- the building sector used up close to 40 per cent of this electricity. The share of electricity is expected to increase to 76 per cent by 2040. With efficient lighting, ventilation, air conditioning, refrigeration and architectural design in our buildings, it is possible to save 30-70 per cent of energy. How can we cut electricity costs in our buildings?

Follow us on 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
gobar times