CSE Directors | Centre for Science and Environment

About CSE

CSE Directors

Sunita Narain
Director General
E-mail: sunita@cseindia.org
Phone: + 91-11-29955778

Chandra Bhushan
Deputy Director General
Email: chandra@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124

Anumita Roy Chowdhury
Executive Director - Research and Advocacy
Email: anumita@cseindia.org
Phone: 9811793923

Jagdeep Gupta
Executive Director – Planning & Operations
Email: jagdeep@cseindia.org
Phone: 9810245353

Aditya Batra
Programme Director – Board & Funding
Email: aditya@cseindia.org
Phone: 9810825775

Souparno Banerjee
Programme Director – Media Resource Centre
Email: souparno@cseindia.org
Phone: 9910864339

Kiran Pandey
Programme Director – Library & Information Management
Email: kiran@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124

images Suresh Kumar Rohilla
Programme Director – Urban Water Management
Email: srohilla@cseindia.org
Phone: 29955124, 29956110, Ext. 286

Saroj Kumar Sahoo
Programme Director – Information and Communications Technology
Email: sahoo@cseindia.org
Phone: 9818281689

Priyavrat Bhati
Programme Director – Green Rating Project
Email: priyavrat@cseindia.org
Phone: 9999716645

Ranjita Menon
Programme Director – Environment Education
Email: ranjita@cseindia.org
Phone: +91 9871825346



Anil Agarwal


Anil Kumar Agarwal was the founder-director of the Centre for Science and Environment, India’s leading environmental NGO. Agarwal spent his lifetime advocating policies that involve the people in natural resource management and learn from India’s own traditions.

Sunita Narain


Sunita Narain has been with the Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) since 1982. She is currently the director general of the Centre and the director of the Society for Environmental Communications and publisher of the fortnightly magazine, Down To Earth.


  • The financial institutions have an important role to play when it comes to reducing environmental and social risk associated with a project. Their role becomes significantly important considering severe capacity gap with different institution entrusted with the job. Therefore, it is imperative for the financial institutions to conduct a proper due diligence of a project before financing them. This will not only save them from reputational risk but also from financial risk.

  • Date:  November 30 – December 3, 2015
    Venue: Nairobi, Kenya
    Language: English

  • Date: 7-9 December, 2015

    ‘Septage’ is both solid and liquid waste that accumulates in onsite sanitation systems (OSS) e.g. septic tanks. This has three main components – scum, effluent and sludge. It has an offensive odour, appearance and contains significant levels of grease, grit, hair, debris and pathogenic micro organisms. The construction and management of OSS are left largely to ineffective local practices and there is lack of holistic septage management practices.

About CSE

The Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) is a public interest research and advocacy organisation based in New Delhi. CSE researches into, lobbies for and communicates the urgency of development that is both sustainable and equitable.

Follow us on

gobar times